Wise Advice From the Tea Yoda ☕

Happy Sunday friends!

I wanted to get this sent out before I head off to a wedding for somebody that I’ve never met before. I guess the one thing they don’t teach you about marriage is that you are now obligated to go meet strangers on the biggest day of their life. So wish me luck!

This month I started doing something new. The old Chris would have said it was super corny. The new Chris says it’s therapeutic and motivates me. I created a weekly gratitude journal. It’s not long or super detailed, but it involves a few key bullet points from the week of the wins that I’ve had. There’s big things like landing TJ Maxx as a client, hitting my workout goals, and this week, a very inspiring conversation.

So the coolest thing happened this week. We just created a group of like 22 brands called the Titan group for the Founders Club and have a bi-weekly call. The club is growing quick and I don’t get to meet everyone that joins. But yesterday I was blown away when the founder of the Art of Tea jumped on to introduce himself and share his 20+ years of experience growing his empire. If you don’t know me, my tea obsession is real and this guy is the legit Yoda of Tea. The first tea sommelier in the USA, this guy is a legend has gone far and wide to create the best tea on earth while building ridiculous partnerships from Disney to the White House. 

Sadly, I’ve noticed as entrepreneurs we kinda become numb to the wins. The highs used to be so high and the lows so crippling low. Over time you just become very flat. Nothing is very good, nothing is very bad. You’ll work through everything. Yesterday when I met this guy it was like I stuck my finger in an electrical socket and got that energy back. 

You ever just get to spend a few moments with somebody that you know has so much to teach you and so much wisdom you just soak every second in? That was me on Thursday for 90 minutes. 

I’m going to spoil you with some drops of magic that inspired me. 

Advice From the Tea Yoda

Slow TF Down 

Venture capital money pouring into DTC businesses was a blessing and a curse. Valuations skyrocketed and if you got out while you could (cough cough - Aaron Spivak & Hush) congratulations you beat the system. If you took capital, you were probably forced to grow at all cost, made a ton of stupid decisions along the way, and if the money ran out ut oh. 

If you’re in the position to run your business without investors breathing down your neck and controlling your company, take some time to zoom out and pause. Ask yourself why am I building this? How long can I be happy doing this? What are the parts of the business I hate? What would make me stop running this business? How do I get energy? 

Hearing Steve talk about the Art of Tea in this exact way gave me some perspective on what we’re building with CROSSNET. 

Why Am I Building This? My Answer in 2017:

I want to get rich and not work for somebody else. Backyard games are fun and we need more of them. 

Why Am I Building This? My Answer in 2024:

We are all so addicted to our cell phones and screens. Time off line is the best. If we can provide a fun, entertaining and athletic way to get people together, off their devices and making memories then I’m doing my job.

How Long Can I Be Happy Doing This? 

TBH the company has done a very good job of not chasing the shiny objects over the past 18 months. When profits are coming in it’s funny to see how morale improves. CROSSNET is not a forever thing for me, but it’s a product that should be around for my grandkids to play. Build and build until the right acquirer comes that can make it last another 50-100 years. 

What Parts of the Business Do I Hate?

I don’t enjoy the excel sheets, financial planning, twelve week cash flow and financial management. It has become my #1 priority in the past 18 months as we rebuild the company and get it back to strength, but I’d be lying if I didn’t say this was the shittiest part of my job. I get energy from building, marketing, and sales; not improving our bottom line from 12 to 14%

What Would Make Me Stop Running This Business?

$$$, my time back, and the right acquirer. CROSSNET has the potential to become a recognized sport and just not a Facebook ad product. We are the #1 volleyball net on Amazon and have been so for years. 

What Gives Me Energy? 

Launching new SKUs, expanding our retail footprint, seeing the world and building community with other entrepreneurs. 

If you’re down with the reflection journal idea, answer these questions above. Feeling extra motivated, send them directly to me and I’ll post a few of my favorite answers next week. I’ll also chose 10 people to send a CROSSNET to so they can kick off their summer fun early.

What if You Could Buy Every Billboard in Your City?

In the 1950’s, if you could buy every billboard in your city, it would mean your sales would go through the roof 🚀

Why? Because you’re everywhere and the halo effect throughout the city makes your brand seem larger than life.

As a brand in 2024, the ones crushing it, indeed appear to be “everywhere” in order to stay relevant and cut through the noise.

This is what brands on SARAL are doing with their high-volume ambassador programs. When you’re a niche brand, all you need is a couple dozen influencers to post about you to make customers say “They’re everywhere, I don’t want to miss their products!”

With automated discovery and bulk-personalized outreach, SARAL helps you eliminate the boring work and allows you to scale an ambassador program with little time invested.

The best part? They don’t charge until you see success. 

Want to start now?! Chat with their team

*sponsored content by Saral

See You in New York

I’m heading off to NYC for the next ten days first thing tomorrow morning! If you’re in town send me a response back and lets try to link up for breakfast, a workout or coffee!

On Tuesday (4/9), I rented out three padel courts in Williamsburg to play at 2PM. We have room for 2 players so if you can make it and you’d like to join the first two to respond are in!

Tuesday night I am also co-hosting a massive afterparty that over 100+ guests will be attending. You can RVSP here for more details!

The Checklist:

  • Message me if you’re in NYC, lets hang

  • RSVP for the massive party on Tuesday night

  • Send me your accountability answers to get a free CROSSNET

  • Sign up for a demo with Saral, they are awesome

Talk soon,

Chris